2024 International Tug O’ War Competition 


2024 Competing Teams


  • Detroit Rugby Club (2023 Winners)
  • Detroit Venom Pro Football
  • Others pending


  • Windsor Police (2023 Winners)
  • Livonia Firemen
  • U.S. Army
  • U.S. Marines
  • Detroit Rugby Club
  • St. Andrew’s Highlanders
  • Air/Space Force (first time participants)


Our Sheriff’s Trophy Tradition 

In 1914, Wayne County Sheriff, James Milton Oakman, donated a beautiful silver engraved loving cup to the winning Tug O’ War team at the 65th Annual Highland Games.  At that time, Tug O’ War was an official Olympic sport! 
~ The American team won the gold medal that year! ~
For the past decade, the winning Tug O’ War teams have been presented with the 1914 Sheriff’s Trophy for the Men’s champions and the 2014 Sheriff’s Trophy to the Women’s champions. 


2010 08 07 Highland Games 343 (2)
2010 08 07 Highland Games 346 (2)


The photos above show Wayne County Sheriff, Benny Napoleon (who died December 17, 2020 from complications of Covid-19), presenting the trophy to the Winning Team in 2010, members of the 1st Battalion, 24th Marines,  with then Wayne County Executive, Bob Ficano, and Sheriff, Benny Napoleon.  Our Games are held in Wayne County, and these two were big supporters of our Games.  (photo credit:  Bob Giles)

2023 Champions

Detroit Women’s Rugby Club

Windsor, Ontario Police Service

2023 Tug O’ War Highlights